What I didn’t know then…

Words from an old rocker, Bob Seger, in his tune “Against the Wind” make me smile and cry at the same time.  I was reading the “Running on Sober” blog today and it took me back to my days of chemical addiction when the only dreams I could muster were concerned with survival and the next drink.  Survival was in the number two slot of that pitiful menu.  If not for the grace of God and the love of a mother I would have been buried and forgotten long ago, my eternity sealed on the wrong side of the grass.  I did not talk to anyone outside of my own head and I heard nothing but the impact of a box of food from my mother as she left it on my porch.  She gave me the only chance she could in the only way she could.

I was not waiting for God to find me.  He knew where I was.  I had gone through 8(!) dui arrests and several rehab programs.  A judge who did not like me gave me the chance I needed when he locked me up for a few months.  By God’s design and with an accident in jail, I ended up in the rehab sponsored by the VA (I am an old Marine) hospital and, by choice, I voluntarily spent 18 months there.  That is what it took for me to get head out of my whatever and decide to move on with my life.  I am thirteen years down the road now and life is a good thing.  Living my own Christianity out loud has become my life.

Jackson Browne’s “Running on Empty” and Bob Seger’s “Against the Wind” are pretty descriptive terms in my life.  “Amazing Grace” fits me to a tee.  _dg

2 thoughts on “What I didn’t know then…

  1. I remember you always liked Bob Seger’s song, “Against the Wind”. When I hear it now days I remember you. God bless. Keep up your blog…good.
    Patty

Leave a Reply

